2017 Selection Committee

These members of a globally significant art community set the high standard of the fair, ensuring you can buy from our artists with the confidence that you are investing in the best of emerging talent. Past committee members include Patricia Piccinini, Kathy Temin, Terry Wu, Lisa Fehily, Annika Kristensen, Amanda Love, Ben Quily, Roslyn Oxley, Paris Neilson, Dr Dick Quan, Mikala Dwyer, Virginia Wilson and Megan Robson.


Rhianna Walcott is Gallery Manager & Curator at Artereal Gallery in Sydney.

Having studied Art History at the University of Sydney, Rhianna has since worked in commercial galleries for close to a decade. She has spent the last eight years managing Artereal Gallery, one of Sydney’s leading commercial galleries situated at the forefront of contemporary art practice. During her time at Artereal Gallery, Rhianna has worked with numerous artists, from emerging to established, to present, promote and sell their work in both an Australian and international context.

Rhianna has also worked as a freelance arts writer for various contemporary art publications and is a committed arts philanthropist via her role as a member of the Art Gallery of New South Wales’ Atelier Program and her role on the committee for the Museum of Contemporary Art’s Young Ambassador Program.



Sri Lankan-born, Sydney-based artist Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran creates rough-edged, vibrant, new-age idols that are at once enticing and disquieting. He experiments with form and scale in the context of figurative sculpture to explore politics of sex, the monument, gender and religion. He has exhibited at various spaces and contexts including the Art Gallery of South Australia's flagship exhibition, the 2016 Adelaide Biennial of Australian Art and The National: New Australian Art 2017. He has presented solo exhibitions at the National Gallery of Australia, The Ian Potter Museum of Art and the Shepparton Art Museum. In 2014, Nithiyendran was awarded the 2014 NSW Visual Arts Fellowship (emerging) administered through Artspace. In 2015, he was the winner of the 2015 Sidney Myer Fund Australian Ceramic Award, Australia’s richest and premier award for artists working in the medium of ceramics. Forthcoming exhibitions include a solo presentation at the 2018 Dhaka Art Summit. His work is held in various collections, including the National Gallery of Australia, the Art Gallery of South Australia, Artbank, The Ian Potter Museum of Art and the Shepparton Art Museum. 


Annette Larkin has worked within the Australian art scene for over three decades. Her experience has gone the full circle, including working as a gallerina in a commercial gallery; exhibition manager in a state museum; Australian curator/commissioner for the Indian Triennial in 1994; founding member of the now infamous Contemporary Collection Benefactors program, Art Gallery of New South Wales; curator of a regional gallery collection; Head of Contemporary art for Christie’s auction house and now Director of her own art business which specialises in secondary market contemporary art, building and managing private and corporate collections and being a highly respected valuer of many areas of collecting.


As the Deputy Director of Artspace, Michelle Newton works as a producer to support the commissioning of contemporary art projects. Prior to this she was the General Manager, Grantpirrie Gallery; worked in leadership roles at Jilamara Arts, Tiwi Islands and Jirrawun Arts, East Kimberley; and as the Photo Editor for The Sydney Morning Herald. In 2010 she co-curated, with Alexie Glass-Kantor, No Name Station, an international cultural exchange and exhibition project for Gertrude Contemporary, Melbourne and Iberia Center for Contemporary Art, Beijing. She holds a Bachelor of Fine Arts (Honours) from the College of Fine Arts, UNSW and a Graduate Certificate in Business from Curtin University of Technology.